Friday, October 31, 2008

*Sweatshops...Good or Bad?*

"Made in the USA".Everyone sees these labels and automatically think, "oh great its made in America. "People fail to realize or even consider the fact that the very clothes they are purchasing were made in sweatshops. I personally feel that sweatshops are horrible.The fact that someone is being overworked, underpayed and working in unacceptable conditions is jus wrong. I understand that alot of times sweatshops are the only jobs offered in foreign countries, but that doesnt make it acceptable. So many youngchildren drop out of school jus so they can barely get enough money to feed their families.
According to a investigation done by 20/20, the conditions and rulesin sweatshops are inhumane. Women who become preganant are forced to have abortions just so they can work full time in the factories. The conditions are inhumane to the extent that they are rat infested, the women arent allowed to take breaks and have to face sexual harrasement and mental and physical abuse.
At the end of the day the reality is that cheap labor is found in sweatshops and people will continue to use them no matter what . I really want to have my own clothingl ine and have the clothes produced in safe and secure workshops. I really just dont want to be a part of the group of designers who pay people less than $1.oo to produce a shirt that will be sold for $20 and up. I FEEL AS THOUGH HAVING CLOTHES PRODUCED A A CHEAP PRICE SHOULDNT BE AT THE EXPENSE OF ANOTHER PERSON HEALTH AND HAPPINESS!

No comments: